TABLE OF CONTENTS
Inform Digital provides visibilty of progress throughout the patient's consent process, showing the status of their individual consent and information article journey as well as next steps to move them forward.
The status updates begin from the moment an information article is sent to the patient. The first status is "Pending" to indicate that the patient has not opened the information article.
If a patient says they've not received an email with the link to the article, double check their email address is correct and that they've checked in their Junk folder. If everything looks fine, you can re-send the article to them and if it's still not arriving reach out to our support team so we can investigate.
Once the patient has clicked the link for the first time and been taken to the article, the status will update to "Opened". This doesn't necessarily indicate the documents have been reviewed, as the patient may not have their information to hand to pass the identity check, so this status is really a simple confirmation that the document has been received and the patient is able to access the resource.
Note: If the patient says they have not received the link, but the status is opened, confirm their email address on the system is correct and update if necessary. If the email address was incorrect, it's best practice to expire the link sent to the incorrect email and then send the articles to the updated email from scratch.
3. Article Read
Once the patient has completed the article - provided the draft consent form has not yet been sent - the status will change to "Article Read". This status indicates that the patient has reviewed the information in the article and is in the position to make an informed decision on whether they would like to provisionally consent to proceed. At this point, you can send the draft consent form to them for them to review and provide provisional consent.
4. Draft Consent Complete
Once the patient has completed the draft consent form, their status will change to "Draft Consent Complete". At this point the final consent form can be downloaded and prepared for the formal consent discussion in person with the patient before the final sign-off is completed. Any notes that the patient has made during their review of the article will be added to the form so any final questions can be addressed ahead of the final sign-off.
Note: The consent form will remain available in the dashboard until the link is expired, it's best-practice to expire the link following the formal consent discussion and final sign-off - assuming that the patient is happy that they understand the procedure.
5. Declined Consent
If a patient declines to consent to a procedure, their status will be updated to "Declined Consent". At this stage, it's best to discuss their decision with them and talk about next-steps. Even if consent has been declined initially, the patient will still have access to review the procedure information article and will also be able to re-take the consent section should they change their mind and wish to proceed.